Overheating Problems

20Snake01

Oct 19, 2009
Hey guys I am in desperate need of some help. About two weeks ago my car overheated and to make a long story short, it ended up being the tstat. Ive been driving it the past couple of weeks no problems and still great power. So this past weekend im driving it and while im stopped at lights the car was sputtering and staled on my a couple times when I took my foot off the clutch (im a good stick driver so this was odd). Then about an hour later my fan starts going on so I knew there was a problem and sure enough about 10 min later car starts to go towards the red again. I let the car cool then drove home, all while never letting the car go into the red. I get the car home let it sit a couple min, then checked oil which was about a quart low, if that. I put in a quart of oil then went to start her back up and the car and it wouldnt crank, at first it tried to turn then, then it was less and now wont even try to turn. I thought battery but lights and radio still work and with the overheating before it kinda just left me clueless. I really need some help here because ive been trying to sell the car which is in great condition b/c im moving to California in 2 weeks and I still owe 11k on the car plus the 130 a month on insurance :bang:

• Sponsors (?)

Test battery and starter

I am just a little confused. Are you saying that at first the starter would turn the engine over but it would not start? Latter attempts, the starter would not turn the engine over at all. Is this correct?

Let’s rule some things out and get some more information.

What model year Mustang are we dealing with?

Is the top of the battery clean? Are the terminals clean and tight?

If the ignition key is turned to on but not started, can you hear the fuel pump run? It might help to cycle the key on/off several times. Each time the key is cycled, the fuel pump should run for a couple of seconds.