Please help! is this really “lean”?

1995 5.0 vert

Mar 12, 2019
Mesa az
I bought a 95 mustang gt a few months back dont drive it much, with gt40 heads, intake, bbk headers, bbk throttle body, comp cam, bbk cai the guy i bought it from gave me this dyno graph saying it needs a tune and is running lean? Im new to reading a/f ratios
1552422486856.jpeg

• Sponsors (?)

Jeez i didnt know it was that bad??!! the car runs completely fine but every few seconds that CEL goes on then off after a few seconds but after seeing this, im not moving it till i get a dyno tune, thanks again yall.

If you run it in the dark with the hood open, I bet your headers start glowing within a few minutes. LoL

No... I would [not] run that car until this issue is resolved.

Reactions: 1 user
vaccum leak? so the dyno tune guys can take care of that right?

I don't know. Are they mechanics? :shrug:

My advice would be that if you're not prepared to diagnose and fix this issue on your own that you should enlist the help of a qualified mechanic and let him/her tell you when it's ready to go to the dyno.

The above suggestions are directionally accurate, and you are lean, though reasonable AFR's are driven by load as well as RPM. That's why, as Noobz mentions, commanded AFR would be even richer if you had forced induction (i.e. higher load). In the tune it looks something like the below, at lower loads an AFR of about 14.3:1 is ok. At higher load, 12.1 is reasonable (if you were using FI that would be even lower, 10.5-11:1). So how bad your AFR actually is, is a function of how much load the dyno is applying.