Quest for suspension improvements

dubbsix

Oct 18, 2006
Katy,TX
Guys,

Im new to fox's and have to ask you all a question:

Im looking to upgrade the suspension on my newly acquired 89 LX 5.0. The bushings are in good condition so im looking for a nice spring/strut/shock combo that will give me improved handling over stock and fair well at the drag strip. Im looking for a nice blend of high speed handling and weight transfer.. does such a combo exist?

Also, could anyone recommend a good suspension combo/kit?

• Sponsors (?)

What kinda budget are you on? If it doesn't have them already get subframe connectors reguardless. Then I would upgrade the rear upper and lower control arms. I found you can't go wrong with Eibach springs (they makes all sorts of applications for the Fox). Keep in mind if you want to lower the car that lowering it will hurt the drag strip times.

If you don't have subframe connectors get those first, absolute required. A strut tower brace would help too.

I've done both of those recently and I was supprised how much more solid and stable the car feels. Even just crusing at 70 on the interstate.

dubbsix said:
Uh oh... wait a minute.. will these components fit a 89 LX 5.0 ?

I'm doing it on my 89 but i'm putting on 94-95 spindles. I know the struts/shocks for 87-93 and 94-04 are different, but I'm not sure exactly what is changed. The springs are the same, they are just FMS C springs in that kit.

Someone with more knowledge of the spindle/strut changes in SN cars should be able to answer this question. I think the only question is will 94-04 struts fit 87-93 4-lug spindles.

(I'm assuming you still have 4-lug)

I did some searching since i'm curious. The general consensus seems to be that SN95 struts have less travel and won't work very well on lowered (which that kit would do) 87-93 spindles.