Question about my exhaust set-up in jersey

PeteyAce

Jul 2, 2004
i moved to keansburg nj bout 6 months ago, but i still have everthing of mine going to staten island ny, my insurance license registration. so to anyone im still a ny state resident. question is i got o/r h pipe so could a nj cop give me a ticket for my exhuast (if too loud or what not) even though im a ny state resident technically?

• Sponsors (?)

i believe so, be careful NJ is infamous for having highway emission tester units, basically they sit on the highway and stop cars left and right and test emissions right there :(

Its a $1000 fine for no Catalytic Converters I believe, at least that is what my dad said (he's a police captain) I will try to ask him about your question but once again I believe you can get a ticket.

I dont think so. . it would be like having tint with NY plates, a NJ cop cannot give you a ticket, give you a bull**** warning, but not a ticket-because tint in NY is legal. but im not sure about emissions crap, I still dont think so though! I think that may be only applicable to the residents of the state being implemented in... Like if your from FL, ya dont need 2 plates, just one-A NY cop-cannot give you a ticket for that-being in FL that is there law. get it.

Ant

True, But in certain states such as Florida, there is no emmsions, so each state is different. i dont think a NJ cop can even stop for that check. i would be more inclined to see them stop NJ vehicles with jersey tags. Im pretty sure, not 100% though.

monte87 said:
True, But in certain states such as Florida, there is no emmsions, so each state is different.