Questions about a build up I'm planing

neoxaero

Oct 3, 2008
I'm new to working with 5.0's .. So i'm learning as I go.. I made a post a couple weeks ago but am thinking of going a slightly different way with the build... so a few more questions...

The project car I bought has some issues that I'm trying to remedy

So heres what the car has done to it currently

19# injectors
Stock fuel pump
Forged bottom end
GT40 heads
Edelbrock performer intake
Edelbrock throttle body elbow
65mm throttle body (Not sure on the brand.. but its screwed up..)
Paxton Novi 2000 S/C
Paxton FMU with a 10:1 disk in it
BBK Shortys
Off-road X-pipe
Side dumped exhaust

When I bought the car, it wouldn't run worth a crap above 3500RPM.. In the process of fixing that issue, I've found some other issues with the car.

In order to have a good running car I'm thinkin about upgrading some parts

42# injectors
Walbro 255lph fuel pump
BBK 65mm Throttlebody
Abaco MAF (spending a little extra money here so I can reprogram it as if I change injectors at some point)

Out side of these parts I'm not sure which way to go..

Now for some questions..
#1 Should I replace the stock fuel rail? I've been told it'll support up to 500hp or so.. but I'm not sure exactly how much HP to expect from this setup.

#2 Should I ditch the Paxton FMU all together? Should I go with a boost referencing fuel pressure regulator? Paxton says to go with a 4:1 disc with 42# injectors .. Should I find a FPR that has the same rising rate? If I go with the FPR, do I ditch the stock FPR? .. Which leads back to the first question.. Will I need an aftermarket rail to use an after market FPR?