Ranger Roller vs. A237

Just looking for some opinions here from you guys. I'm still learning about this kind of thing and I'd just like a little info and recommendations from you guys. Here are the questions that I have to ask.

- Which of these two cams will give more power?
- I know that if I put in a Ranger roller cam & followers that I will not have to make any adjustments to the block. If I choose to put in an A237, will I have to touch the block, or can it just go in the head and that is that?
- Which of the two will give me a more lopey sounding idle?

You see, one of the projects I am doing this summer is to take a stock 2.3 cylinder head and get some things done to it, (milled, port & polish, new cam & followers) and I am trying to figure out exactly which set up will be the most effective. Therefore, any answers to these questions would help out a lot, and any other comments on the comparison of the two cams are welcomed as well. Thanks in advance for your time and input.

• Sponsors (?)

The A237 would make more power. The Ranger cam is exactly that: a cam from a Ranger 2.3 engine. It's made more for torque. Neither of them will have a lopey idle. The 237 should just drop right in, no mod necessary, but it would be good to get a second opinion from someone who has done the swap (bhuff30).

a-237 from ford last i heard was 211$ i picked up my ranger cam+roller followers (wich you will need either cam u pick) for less than 50$ at the jy...if your going to buy a ranger roller online,look for a good deal...dont let evil bay trick you into paying 100+$ for it!

cam

Im using the a234 cam its a slider cam with the close spec of the a237 .It dose have a lope at an idle in my 86 svo,little doggy on take off but has a lot of midrange power. Still can buy it from ford $125.00

Ray III said:
I paid $105 for my ranger cam on evilbay :(