Recommendations For Longtubes For A 2003 Gt

bearcat03

Dec 7, 2016
Hey fellas, Im new to the stangnet forum however not entirely new to forums in general. I thought I would come here to look for some thoughts on what I should do to my 2003 Mustang GT this spring.

A little back story, this is my third mustang, previous two were 98s. Have always loved the look of the 99-04 body. Bought the car with 85k on it and had to drive it as a daily and put about 15k highway miles onto it in a hurry.

Now this spring I will be looking to spend about 2-3k on the car in some upgrades. My list so far is 03-04 Cobra bumper swap(mine has horrible road rash), Under drive pulleys, gonna replace plugs and coils since it just rolled past 100k, tint, probably will look to redo the suspension and lower it and then the big one is gonna be Long tubes w/ short x. I bought the car and it had aftermarket rims, and SLP LM exhaust with off road X. My main question would be which brand do you recommend for these long tubes? As of now I am planning to order SLP Longs w/ short x because I want to have a full SLP exhaust. I love the sound of mine now and I wanna deepen it a bit with long tubes while also gaining some power in the process.

Does anyone know stang owners with SLP long tubes? What kind of tone change in the sound of the exhaust should I expect? What kind of price should I expect for a shop install? I thought of doing it myself but me and my friends are novices so I dont wanna snap my engine studs off trying to do it myself.

If you could just let me know what you think I would appreciate it!

• Sponsors (?)

Skip the under drives but the rest is a solid plan.

I've used both BBK and pypes long tubes for mod motor cars and have no issues with either's quality.

They will be loud with the SLP if you don't already have the muffler. I might suggest a Magnaflow catback (Same basic sound but none of that crappy rasp) and an H pipe. It'll have more of a rumble vs euro sound.