Stroker size question

jr99svt

Aug 31, 2006
Hi All,
Im new to the pushrod side of the mustang world. I Have a 99 cobra vert, and i just bought a 94 gt with no engine. No im not crazy, i wanted to buy a car that i could build from scratch. Here is what i have ordered so far. A dss level 20 351W .030 over block, Billet Aluminum Main Support Girdle, Pro Windage Tray, AFM N-81 Cam, ARP Hardware, Fel Pro Gasket Set, O-ring Head gaskets, Ford Racing Hy-Vo Double roller timing set, And AFR 205 heads. What size Stroker Should i go With? i am looking At A 393, or a 408, With all forged rotating Assy. looking to put 11.5 or 12.0:1 Commpression Ratio N/A. Car will be a Street car that is not a daily driver, But will see some strip time. i Also want reliability/dependability in case i would want to drive it long distances. Also What kit would you go with(name brand?), And why?Thanks for any help. :cheers: :cheers:

• Sponsors (?)

less rod angle:rlaugh:

(sorry man I am with you, just had to do it:rlaugh: )

If one is looking to go stroker 351 based I would be looking at a 408+ also, not knocking a 393 at all, just if money was no object for a big build. I also would not want to build a stroker without getting a much better block...even though the 351's are stronger than the 302's. So with that outlay of cash for a stroker...why not go as big as you can?

There is a less steeper rod angle with the 393 and the 408. There is not as much piston material on the 408 piston as a 393.

I know a guy with a 438 cubic inch engine. 200 shot on top of it.

to re-hash, stir the pot, start trouble (rolling the r). I have seen the math on the rod angle on the strokers as have MANY of the others on this site. It is not that much, there are far greater issues with setting up a combo than the rod angle. If the diff. in press. was going to be too much or an issue...the motor would be made of soft candy/play-dough/or cyl. made out of used Bud cans.