This is why I hate Consumer Reports

'66 coupe

Founding Member
Aug 7, 2000
Lakeland, Fl.
http://autos.msn.com/advice/CRArt.aspx?contentid=4023544&src=LP%20Passenger

They key is that the scoring is based on reports from Consumer Reports subscriber. I work in retail and I can tell you that everyone that uses Consumer Reports are all the same. They're usually middle-aged people that know very little about the actual products and gather ALL of their information from CR.
You know the type. People that swear up and down that Toyota Camrys are THE best cars ever made, but they can never explain exactly why. Instead they just point to what all their peers say on Consumer Reports.

What I want to know is Where the hell is the Crown Victoria/Grand Marquis on the "most reliable" list. Hundreds of Law enforcement departments can't be wrong. I know several older people that put 300k on one Mercury and go and buy another one for their next car. But I guess their opinions don't count cause they don't use the internet?:shrug:

• Sponsors (?)

did you see the least reliable list? Tell me if that's not rediculous... A BMW that's not reliable??? A Mercedes-Benz that's not reliable??? Who made this list was obviously not all there in their state of mind. Either that or they must be a japanese idiot that thinks all american and european cars suck and japanese cars are the best. There's only two american vehicles in the most reliable and only six japanese cars in the not reliable cars... crapola :bs: :uzi: :flame: :chair:

I totally agree that most people are just brain-washed into believing that imports are SOOO much superior to domestics in quality, but in CR's defense, last year they said that the '04 Mustang was THE MOST RELIABLE AMERICAN CAR.

In addition to that, the average problems per 100 cars were:

Asian: 12
American: 17
European: 21

Mustang: 5