Universal Catalytic Converters

03_TrueBlue_GT

May 5, 2010
Houston, Tx
Ok I was wondering if anyone has welded a pair of universal catalytic converters on a o/r x pipe? Reason I ask is there is a used x pipe for sale for 100 bucks and I want to get it, but Im not too keen on driving without cats. If I can just buy some 60 dollar ones from Summit and be done with it I will do that.. Also could I just cut out two of the cats on the stock mid pipe and have them welded on?

Thanks for the help and advice y'all.:nice:

• Sponsors (?)

I have no where near the experience some of the guys have on here but my 2 cents is if you are going to go through the trouble of cutting and welding in cats then you might as well go new from summit. Not sure if you would need to do any kind of sensors as well

I have welded in Walker 15038 universal cats on my MAC Prochamber. They were about $100 each. I can still (barely) pass Ontario emissions with them (which are as strict as California standards). I don't know if you need these for a visual inspection or the sniffer though.

In Texas we have visual and sniffer tests for the OBDI cars and for the OBDII cars they usually just do a visual inspection. I just want to weld the cats on because I don't want to smell the gasoline when I'm idling and don't want the exhaust to sound really raspy when Im barely accelerating..

Thanks for the catalytic converter reccomendations I will definitely look at those.

Someone told me at a car meet that I would be basically defeating the purpose of an x pipe by adding two cats to the mid pipe. I thought that the high flow cats would flow a lot better than the 4 stock cats on the H pipe or am I wrong?:shrug:

Thanks for the help guys keep it coming!:nice:

Btw I here are one of the cats that Im looking at buying when I can...

mpe-99006hm_w.jpg

MagnaFlow 99006HM - MagnaFlow Heavy Metal Catalytic Converters - Overview - SummitRacing.com