valvetrain troubles

stevesLX

Nov 12, 2006
cincinnati
Well as most are aware I have been battleing valvetrain noise for 3 months now and no such luck yet as far as getting it to quiet down. If you are unaware of what I have it is as follows. 302 stock block pistons crank, F cam stock heads w/ a 3 angle valve job stock pedastal mounted steel rockers. I had my block freshened up and my heads cleaned up and a valve job done back in January and now I have valvetrain noise. I picked up a length checking pushrod and with the intake off I went thru every single one and checked the lengths. They were kinda all over the place within .010 of one another. My preload is anywhere from .040-.050 throughout my valvetrain. I have put 2 sets of lifters in this thing and get the same reults. I have new Crane beehive springs that support 5.50 lift. The Fcam is only 5.12. I have checked the clearance between the rocker and the retainer and spring and they are not touching. I really dont think this is a P to V issue because I have driven this thing now aboiut 1500 miles and the car runs super strong but is noisy as hell. Its even been to the strip and is running as I expected and I am spraying it also at that. It sounds like a sewing machine. When its at idle its for the most part quiet but as soon as you give it gas it sounds like crap. I have tried thicker oil (20w50) and that didn't help. I currently have 10w40 and a quart of the Lucas thick crap in there now and it sounds like crap. I had heard on one website that the 5.0 roller lifters were inteded for 5W30 oil. I dont know how true that is but I picked some up but haven't used it yet. They claim the bleeder hole is small and the thicker oils have a harder time getting in there. Sounds a little off the wall to me but hell I have done everything else and to no prevail nothing seems to quiet this thing down. I have also checked for exhaust leaks everywhere and nothing thats all sealed tight.:bang:

• Sponsors (?)

Steve,