Engine Water Pump Install

1989LXFOX

Jan 19, 2018
Hello all,

First, thanks in advance for your response! Second, I opened my garage to find a large puddle of coolant. I have a replacement lower radiator hose which I thought was the culprit. I spoke to my mechanic and he warned that it could be the water pump so I figured I should just buy one anyway as it should be replaced (107k original miles). My question is... how difficult is a water pump install for a total noob? I looked at some past posts and a water pump install seems easy, do I have to drain all the coolant before I change the water pump? I dont have to jack up the car to change out the pump, right?

• Sponsors (?)

Water pump install isn't to bad. You don't have to drain all the coolant necessarily, but your going to end up draining most of it. You have to take loose the hose going to the bottom of the radiator. Use a catch pan and you can reuse it. If it looks bad it's a great time to replace it. For me the most frustrating thing about the water pump install is getting the fan/clutch assembly loose from the water pump and then out of the way. Once its loose you can let it sit in the fan shroud just be careful not to ruff up your radiator. I'm sure there are a lot of threads on here that go through the procedure.

You don't need a lot of experience to do the job. Just take your time and do a little research. Don't over torque anything. The last thing you want to do is snap a bolt off in the block. Removing a broken bold is a pain.