well sorry guys, the 5.4 3v worked out

billfisher

Jul 17, 2005
huntsville, AL
it turns out the company i bought mt motor from has MACH motors on backorder. i hate to wait, and they advised me they have another low miles 2004 5.4 3v. so it is on it's way. i guess cobra 'R' hood is in order. this crap sucks. i was in the process of learning as much as possible about 2003 mach's. well atleast my long tubes will work with each tube extended. that is a question though. if they work as is then that works. saves me a lot of dough on 4v headers. i will post pics when i figure out how to convert to manual T/B with throttle position. thinking about 4" hood and mounting MAF directly on T/B. just speculating. now i have to start all over figuring this motor out. anybody know what drives the VCT. maybe it is analog 0-12v. i am an electronics engineering tech, and i am looking at a hall effect with digital counter and timer for rpm drive. my guess is varying posistion with rpm's will work. ada converter in 1v steps to 12v.

any other misc. ramblings about this one?

• Sponsors (?)

to be honest, the 5.4 3V may be better than the 4.6L 4V. the 5.4L has something like 380tq at the flywheel stock. the VCT will help make a nice flat tq curve. get some cams and tuning and i bet you can see 350+rwhp and rwtq n/a.

not really.

tomustang said:
since you'll need a 05 computer you'll throw CEL's left and right for all the wiring/sensors you'll be missing

i will let you all know if there are problems. i think it will work better than you think. if not then 04-05 pick-up harness/computer will take care of it. i cannot conceptualize a scenario where stock components will not work. we shall see. i will certainly cannibalize my current motor or 'fool' the computer feedback.