What all is involved in removing the brake booster (working on engine bay)?

Well,
Simpy put, I recently painted my engine bay after sanding it down, but I didn't remove the brake booster. That along w/ a few other things, I'm basically not happy w/ what I did, so I'm going to go back and redo the engine bay.

So I was wondering, what all is involved in removing the brake booster and proportioning valve? Am I going to have to bleed the brakes after I do so and reinstall it, b/c I hate brake work :D

It's just like 4 bolts at the firewall (from under the dash, I think) and you remove it, what else?

Is this a complicated procedure or is it simple? This is my first time doing it, that's why I'm asking, thanks :flag:

• Sponsors (?)

its a biotch. especially if its a manual...lots of 'Kiss Me''Kiss Me''Kiss Me''Kiss Me' in the way.....although if you take of some of the plastic pieces on teh dash...you can get a 2 foot extension and kinda reach them that way,,but its still gonna suck man

good luck

Nick

Cammed90Notch said:
Well,
Simpy put, I recently painted my engine bay after sanding it down, but I didn't remove the brake booster. That along w/ a few other things, I'm basically not happy w/ what I did, so I'm going to go back and redo the engine bay.

So I was wondering, what all is involved in removing the brake booster and proportioning valve? Am I going to have to bleed the brakes after I do so and reinstall it, b/c I hate brake work :D

It's just like 4 bolts at the firewall (from under the dash, I think) and you remove it, what else?

Is this a complicated procedure or is it simple? This is my first time doing it, that's why I'm asking, thanks :flag:
I asked the same question 3 yrs ago and never got a responce, so this is what I've learned.

I've found the easiest way to remove the Brake Booster is to use a 14mm deep socket w/ a swivel on a 1/4" drive w/ an 18" extension, it’s still a pain to do but the easiest way I've found, and I done my 3 times.