What is a good wax?

• Sponsors (?)

05BlackV6 said:
Hi,

As you know I'm new to the car care world and was wondering what a good car wax would be. I have Turtle Wax F21 polish. Polish the car first then wax right?

NXT generation from i believe Mcguires. mmmmmmm it shines so nicely.

I use The Wax Shop's Safe Cut first. It smooths down the surface and creates a really nice, deeply reflective shine. It was highly recommended by my bodyshop. Then, for a protective layer, I use NXT Tech Wax, which is nice just by itself. For spot cleanups, I use NXT Speed Detailer. I've had more than a few compliments with various car guys on the depth of the reflection, including a lad with a lovely 70's corvette with a beautiful custom paint job. He said his son also has an '05 Mustang but the reflection isn't nearly as deep.

Safe Cut huh? I'll look into that. Has anyone ever used the F21 polish? How is it?

Now I think I saw the NXT tech wax in spray and I guess cream form( in one of those little round containors.) Which is better?

Here comes another horribly noob question. I've never polished or waxed a car before. A) How is it doen proplery? B) How do you know when it's time to do it?

Thanks for any help in advance,

Me

1) Wash car
2) Wax car using the small round pads that are given to you with the wax you buy.
3) When waxing do one area of the car at a time, let it dry to a haze, and wipe off with a micro-fiber towel.

Mequiars and others sell a quick detailer that you spray on in between washing/waxing your car. When that becomes difficult to wipe off, it's time to wax again.

Basically, I wax my car every 4 months, or 3 times a year. But it all depends on where you live, how much it is outside, etc.

Good luck!!!