Which mufflers and cats for the stang?

jayloo

Mar 30, 2005
What do you think are the best cats and mufflers to put on a v6 stang? And what would I expect to pay for them?

I am going to convert my 1 pipe to dual exhaust and I want to get good stuff.

Before the crash I did a search and Flowmaster 40 or 50 kept coming up for mufflers.

Any other tips for doing the exhaust on my stang?

• Sponsors (?)

Before the server crash I remember several people mention that the cheapest option would be to have a custom set installed by a exhaust shop.

I know from experience that many shops don't like to install other manufacturer's systems. You may end up paying almost as much for installation as you would for the parts + install. If you let a shop do everything, you can probably negotiate a good package price. If you do the install yourself, though, this isn't an issue.

I have a guy that has his own shop and can do the custom job. I just wanted to get an idea of what others thought were the best mufflers and cats.

jayloo said:
I have a guy that has his own shop and can do the custom job. I just wanted to get an idea of what others thought were the best mufflers and cats.

Supposedly, the single most restrictive point in most car’s exhaust systems are the catalytic converters. There is also a huge difference in the design and cost of various CATs. For example, a replacement cat for my old BMW 325e ran about $1000+ for an OEM unit! Apparently, this is due to the much greater concentration of platinum, palladium and other precious metals in the converter than there is in cheapo units from JCWhitney, etc. More catalyst = more efficient reduction of CO, NO and HC levels. Better Cats can usually be designed less restrictive since the exhaust doesn’t have to contact the internal grid for extended periods to fully oxidize the emissions.