Wrecked: is it me or the car?

lietuvis91

Aug 4, 2004
NO, LA
HEy Everyone,
this passed weekend i was driving out in the goonies and when i tried to pass someone up my car spun out while shifting to 3rd and ended up in a ditch :( . I hit a speed limit sign so I got a wreckless ops ticket. It was raining too, so i figured I should have known better? ... ok but today it's raining again, i'm driving like 25mph and as i was making a very light turn and the car spun out AGAIN!!! :shrug: I hit a tree w/ the same side that i damaged saturday so didn't suffer any ADDITIONAL damage. NOW... i have 245 H rated tires w/ 400 threadwear on all 4s in very good shape, so WTF!!! Why did this car do this. DO ALL you guys experience this or do i need to get some better rubber or what!!! Right now the car seems so unstable , like on ice everytime it rains!!! I've had it for like 2 months now, so I am new to the mustang. I really just wanna know if these cars are really this unstable b/c of the torgue the engine produces or should I just get better tires? If so what's a good tire especiallt for daily driving int he F***** RAIN!!!! I have stock 1995 gt rims, and if i can go wider than 245 i'd like to.
Any comments are appreciated.

• Sponsors (?)

Was this the first time it rained in a while? Only thing I could think of is there is oil build up on the roads like when it rains for the first time of the year. :shrug:

I see you do some auto cross so I think its time you learn how to counter stear a RWD car. Go to a parking lot (one without parking blocks) practice getting sideways and correcting. You should learn how to get your car back into shape when she gets squirly on you. I've had times I got so loose I was facing the curb I was supposed to be driving parallel to. Then I just swung it back and straightened it out. Takes some getting used to if you have driven a lot of FWD cars. But its so much fun when you can control it.

Where are you at and what is the temp. there?