Your thoughts on exhaust

Longer

Jun 10, 2006
I know this topic has probably been beat to death and I did search, but just wanted some opinions.
99 GT with all the boltons. I have a BBK O/R H with flowmasters. One or both of the flows is rattling like mad. Its internal, something is busted loose. They are welded in and were on the car when I acquired it, not sure if they are 40's or not. I am going to cut them out and replace and just wanted some opinions on make and model to put back in. The flows are loud as hell at freeway speeds with 4.10's, major drone.

I ordered from Randy for the first time today, thanks to those that pointed me in his direction. Great guy, I wish I would have found him about a year ago when I was rebuilding this thing.

• Sponsors (?)

The tailpipes are still in really good condition, all of the exhaust is really good condition, minus the rattling flow. The rattle isnt coming from anything else, its literally something loose inside the flow itself. Maybe a little quieter, but I like the throaty sound at take off, something these flows are lacking. I was thinking of going with something different, just because it seems like every stang has flows.

I have the mac o/r h, and magnapacks. How different would it sound if i put the regular magnaflow mufflers in?

It wouldn't sound like a machine gun going off when you hit the gas anymore - :D

I had Packs with an O/R H and LT's and switched out the catback after 1 week of driving, I prefer a deep toned exhaust note rather than the AK-47 variety. I swapped to the Magnaflow traditional catback and LOVED it, that was one of my favorite exhaust setups. But again that was with LT's, which deepen the tone a bit.

If you put Magnapacks on a car with an H pipe it will sound like a truck with glasspacks.

Id go with a chambered muffler, or at least a "turbo" style that isnt straight through.