0-60 times

#1stangFAN

Mar 30, 2009
So i have my 4.10's and i intalled my c&l intake with tunes from bamachips last night so me and a friend decided to time some 0-60's. Now give me a break that im new to my GT but my fastest time was 5.77 but even though i have an auto it should be lower right? It was suprisingly disappointing because i was looking at some stats online and i should be running 5.3 stock. It got me really frustrated but is this just because of my driving skill or is this somewhat accurate? But at the same time it put a smile on my face to burnout in 3 gears:D.

heres the website i got the stock time from.2005 Mustang | The Essential Guide To Muscle Cars

• Sponsors (?)

Most magazines use a 1' rollout, meaning they don't start timing until after the car has traveled 1' which could make a difference of a couple tenths. They probably use a dedicated test track which probably has pretty good grip as well.

Traction is a huge variable. If you're spinning in the first three gears, that's wasted acceleration.

With drag radials mounted the last day I was at our local track, my supercharged 07 GT automatic ran 0-60 mph in 3.7 seconds (and 0-100 mph in 9.9 seconds). If I didn't have the drag radials on, it would be a lot worse from all the tire spin. Having lots of power is useless without the traction to harness it all.

street racing.... 0-60 times you should use manual.. but when u are doing 1/4 mile times u are better with auto

Just curious but why is that because if you have an auto with a good tune dont you accelerate better because when your transmission shifts it goes right back into the power band almost perfectly while with a manual there is chance for more error? or am i mistaken?

Most magazines use a 1' rollout, meaning they don't start timing until after the car has traveled 1' which could make a difference of a couple tenths. They probably use a dedicated test track which probably has pretty good grip as well.