306 v. 306 long rod

Discussion in '1994 - 1995 Specific Tech' started by blksn955.o, Mar 24, 2004.

1. blksn955.o

blksn955.o Founding Member

So I am finaly ready to start buying parts for a rebuild. I want to go with a 306 long rod but I am running into some problems.

I call DSS racing and get a quote that I think it high since I can get a set of rods (Eagle 5.4 forged I beam rods form summit are 300ish) and then have 500$ to spend on pistons and still be cheaper then them (not a knock on DSS but I am a full time collage student and have to get the best parts that my pocket will allow at the best price).

So then I call CHP and tell the guy what I plan on doing, He tells me that the kit they have for a long rod 306 gives me a -20 in the hole, Now at this point I am thinking will from the avg. pistons I have looked at they run -4 to -7 and this guy is trying to sell me a set up that puts me at -20? I take the avg. -4 to -7 and then sub. the 331 crank (3.25) from the 302 crank (3.00) and there is the -20. So I am thinking he is selling me a 331 rod and piston? He then tells me to have 10 shaved off my block and that it will give me a comp. of 9.51:1. How can a -10 (after shave) still give me 9.51:1 with a flat top piston when all the other flat top pistons I have looked at with -7 are around 8.4:1?

I am realy looking into piecing together a kit of my own with talking to a piston co. However, at that point will it be worth all the headache, and will it be worth the power? I mean if I am talking about 15hp more over a standard 306 I will just go 306 (forged piston and rod of course).

ONe more question I noticed some rods had are bushed and some were pressed pins, I was wandering what is best and what is diff. on the piston if I use a bushed rod?

Thanks for any reply and sorry for the long read
    Greg
  2. 331 cobra

331 cobra New Member