A4LD No OD?????

Discussion in '2.3L (N/A & Turbo) Tech' started by Shrimp300, Jan 5, 2007.

  1. Shrimp300

    Shrimp300 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cocoa, Fl
    i just got done replacing the rear main seal in the car. I hooked everything back up but I now have no Overdrive for some reason. The tranny wasn't taken apart just removed from the car and then reinstalled. Any thoughts what the problem could be????????
     
    #1
  2. mg man

    mg man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Seen a post somewhere similiar problem. No od Turn out to be speed sensor at trans where speedometer cable hooks up. His was bad. Does speedometer work maybe speedometer gear or something in that area. Check wiring unplugged or loose. Only idea I got I am running C-4 so not familiar with A4LD. Others here know more.
     
    #2
  3. Shrimp300

    Shrimp300 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cocoa, Fl
    ill have to give that a shot. thx
     
    #3
  4. Biffmeistro

    Biffmeistro New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the exact same problem. Firstoff, does your Cruise control work? If it doesn't, chances are it's the speed sensor. That's how it was for me.
     
    #4
  5. Ponycar

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach VA
    did you hook up the vac line??
     
    #5
  6. Shrimp300

    Shrimp300 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cocoa, Fl
    Not sure about cruise, i'll check. All vac lines are hooked up.
     
    #6
  7. Shrimp300

    Shrimp300 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cocoa, Fl
    cruise works
     
    #7
  8. 91rangerturbo

    91rangerturbo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i am having the same problem out of my 89lx. I spoke with my tranny guy and he stated that it could be a possiblity of a blown fuse. check all of your fuses...
     
    #8
  9. bhuff30

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    6,021
    Showcase:
    4
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    89
    Location:
    Olathe KS
    Shrimp300: what year is your car? If it is 91-93, then the computer controls the 3-4 upshift. The transmission on this model has 3 wires going to it, 1 ground, 1 for the torque converter lock up, and another for the 3-4 shift. You may have a break or unplugged wire/connector.
    The transmission otherwise shifts correctly? If so, I doubt it is a vacume line or modulator problem. An poor vacume source would cause a delayed and hard 1-2 shift, as well as for other shifts.
    As others said, check the VSS sensor and wires, along with pulling codes on the computer.

    If your car is an 87-90 and doesn't go into OD, then it could be a sign of more serious problems, but also true for the 91-93. It could be a shift linkage out of adjustment, or just a sign the transmission has problems and is giving up the ghost. This transmission will often lose OD first as it goes out.
     
    #9
  10. Shrimp300

    Shrimp300 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cocoa, Fl
    the tranny runs perfect other than the 3-4 upshift. I replaced the VSS... didnt fix it. I didnt disassemble any of the tranny. could the 3-4 servo gone bad?
     
    #10

Share This Page