Crappy gas mileage but no check engine light.

SmockDoiley

Jun 14, 2003
San Diego, CA
My wife keeps complaining that the 95 gets horrendous gas mileage; like 10mph. There are no engine lights on, and the car runs strong. Also, the engine looks really clean, the air filter is spotless, the plugs look new, the distributor cap and rotor are good. I think when I get out there, I'll check the timing, change the plugs, PCV, o2 sensors, and stock H-pipe since I have a new one laying around. I cant think what else would cause bad mileage besides obvious things like crappy engine or tranny and stuff. The car is bone stock with 102k miles on it.All the fluids are fresh and I think the car may have sat for along time because all the tires were new but dry rotted and bad, and the mileage was fairly low,98k, for a 95. Anything else I may be forgetting or you would suggest. I'm more a carbed guy so I'm not as well versed with EFI, but I'm a good mechanic. Also she is in illinois right now and Im in san diego. Any other valves or sensors that could cause bad mileage like EGR junk. Thanks for you help, she loves the car but I'm sick of her complaining every day about the mileage. Not much I can do about it out here. Anybody around Chicago that can shoot codes? Shes pretty hot and very sweet!!

• Sponsors (?)