Cruise Control

Discussion in 'SN95 V6 Mustang Tech' started by AP1995V6, Dec 17, 2003.


  1. AP1995V6

    AP1995V6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oxford, MS
    It doesn't work. Anyone have any suggestions to what to look at before I take it to the dealer?

    *note: hasn't worked since i've owned the car.
    #1
  2. marvinmycat

    marvinmycat Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Look for the guy that sold it too you!

    Seriously, pop the covers off and see what's behind them. Maybe as simple as a non-functional On/Off switch, or a loose wire.
    #2
  3. ExplodingTurtle

    ExplodingTurtle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Um... my computer, duh.
    My friends stang had cruise control and it broke too... is this common or something?
    #3
  4. Lsredy2kstang

    Lsredy2kstang Look, I'm special, dammit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    2,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Woodstcock, Georgia
    check the fuse first off!
    #4
  5. AP1995V6

    AP1995V6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oxford, MS
    All the fuses are good. Everything is hooked up good. However, under my dash there was a grey connector that's just dangling there and I couldn't find anything for it to connect to so I have no idea what it is for.
    #5
  6. 98CobraClone

    98CobraClone New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ripley, Ohio
    don't need no stinking cruise......put a brick on the pedal and go
    #6
  7. STM1965

    STM1965 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario
    Its cheaper to pay an auto electric shop to figure out whats wrong then if possible fix it your self. I just did one on my stang last spring, the sevro unit was NFG and it's located under the left front fender tucked up against the fire wall. It's a pain in the ass to swap out. I also just replaced the same unit on a 93 Areostar mini van much easier to get at. If its the sevro unit it'll run you maybe $50 to $60 bucks at a wreckers, new $300 to $400 from Ford!
    #7
  8. AP1995V6

    AP1995V6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oxford, MS
    Can I just take out all the cruise wiring and stuff from the dash back? If it's not going to work, and I don't care too much if it does or doesn't, I might as well get rid of some of the clutter.
    #8
  9. cgrant

    cgrant New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't just get rid of them! Atleast rewire them to be a volume up/down and cd/radio/dvd controls, much more useful then cruise control anyway I think
    #9
  10. AP1995V6

    AP1995V6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oxford, MS
    I didn't think about that. I was mostly referring to the crap attached to the throttle body.
    #10
  11. Jaice

    Jaice New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    He may not use it much, but If you paid for it, you still want to to work.

    My Stepdad had a Camry, bout it in 88 brand new, used the cruise control once in 97 and the thing never worked again.
    #11
  12. marvinmycat

    marvinmycat Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Cruise Control Inoperative:

    Blown fuse
    Short or open in the cruise conrol circuit
    Faulty brake or clutch switch
    Leaking vacuum circuit
    Faulty cruise control switch
    Faulty stepper motor
    Faulty transducer
    Faulty speed sensor
    Fulty cruise control module
    #12
  13. 75player

    75player New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    My 98s cruise has been out of commision since 99. I've checked the fuses and discovered that ford mislabeled the fuses in the car, owners manual, and even the shop service manuals (At least on the 98s). The fuse for the cruise is good, but cruise control don't work.The fuse that is supposed to be for the powered drivers seat is blown, and blows immediately every time I replace it, yet the seat still works. It's been a couple years since I looked at it, but I beleive the cigarette lighter is supposed to on the same fuse as the seat and the lighter doesn't work. Very strange.
    #13
  14. marvinmycat

    marvinmycat Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    That sounds like a short to me.
    #14
  15. guitars1116

    guitars1116 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    #15

Share This Page