Build Thread My 1986 T-top Build - Lasting Memories

Davedacarpainter

Chicks can make things hard if they’re inspired...
SN Certified Technician
Nov 28, 2015
Discordia
I've started an album for Doby and Robby. If you want to skip all of the crap in this thread and just see pictures, i'll be posting them there as well. I'll be updating the pictures whenever i get back on Doby. I still need to add pictures, i'm trying to be thematic in their order.

I got a new (to me) 1986 GT with T-tops. It is TOTALLY disassembled. My brother started it three years ago. I'm going to finish it and drive it till I'm dead and leave it in my will to my son. I have six months to make it street able. All the bodywork is done, I'm going to paint it next weekend (I've been a car painter since the late seventies). I've convinced my wife it needs to be assembled in our garage and I'm ready to get after it. Lots has been done to the car and drivetrain up to this point, LOTS more needs to be done. Whom ever has done a total rebuild, please offer your advice (hell, even if you haven't done a complete). I will be grateful and consider most anything you post to me. It will be painted a Toyota red (paint code 3R1), I really like that color. I'm using sikkens paint. Thanks in advance, I'm going to need your help.

Last edited:
  • Sponsors (?)

Good luck on the build. I was thinking of using the Toyota metallic green on my next build...it has a beautiful gold metallic. Don't know the color code....I've gotta chase down a tundra.lol These cars are pretty simple to assemble. Are you going back original ? Or are you building a strip street car ? The guys here are awesome with advice. Welcome aboard and good luck. Can't wait to see it done.

Reactions: 1 user