Quick!

Mike3800

Founding Member
Jul 15, 2001
Broomfield, CO USA
I have had issues with domestic cars for most of my life... really all of my life, I am being sucked into the dark dark dark side, not just imports.. but HONDA!!

Somebody quick feed me reasons why I should not buy a used Accord 4cyl 5-speed EX and then spend 2,000-3,000 on a turbo kit...

GO!!

• Sponsors (?)

because you'll pop that motor in a heartbeat.

buy an EG hatch, drop a b18b in it, and THEN turbo it. those motors will take more boost than an EX accord motor (plus none of that vtec crap).

or you can buy a sentra se-r with a sr20de and boost that. those motors are stout.

Mike3800 said:
http://autos.msn.com/research/compa...=0&ph1=t0&ph2=t0&dt=1&v=t5247&v=t5373&v=t5436

What about one of these with a turbo? Especially the super light weight one?

If you like 4 cylinders do it up i guess.
it IS turbo'd like you said, but I have no knowledge whatsoever on how long those those motors last under boost.

my opinion on it is, if you're buying one for fuel efficiency and reliability, then stay clear of the aftermarket turbo.

if you want a fairly quick 4 cylinder, why not get something like an integra or a prelude? those motors have tons of well tested and dyno proven turbo kits and aftermarket for them. well I tihnk preludes have supercharger kits, but wahtever.

Another thing, honda parts cost a bit more than parts for Fords or Chevy's. so when something breaks, get ready to shell out just a tad more than what you used to be spending on your probe.

If you wanted a inexpensive car that you can mod cheaply why wouldnt you just buy a old 5.0 or a lx. You could spend probably less then 3,000 on it and make similar power plus you could still turbocharge/ supercharge it later on if you choose to.