Rear leaf spring question(s)

SadbutTrue

Founding Member
May 1, 2002
Granada Hills, California
I have saggy, crappy stock rear leafs in my rear. I want to replace them. I just got new KYB Gas A Just shocks (for xmas).

I do like the mideye stance, but every time I see mideyes its always with 620 drops in the front. Being a college student, I would like to avoid replacing the front coils if possible, since my current ones, although stock, are in fine shape and haven't been in the car that long.

If I put mideyes on the rear and kept the fronts as they are, would the car look stupid? I don't want the front end noticeably higher than the rear, because it would (obviously) look rediculous. Another solution I suppose would be to do the shelby drop in the front, which would sorta level it. In case the only good solution is to buy new front coils, how much is a set of 620 coils (good ones)?

I might post pictures of the stance soon, just so you know what I mean. Its not horrible, but the rear leafs bottom out over any bump if i'm not going under 5mph, and the whole rear sinks i have passengers in the rear seat.

• Sponsors (?)

What year is your car again??? Are the current rear leafs the originals? Either way, I think the mid-eyes will sit a touch lower than stock, but not so much as to be ridiculous. I've got mid-eyes on my Mach, stock front springs (but upper arms lowered 1.75" with negative wedge kit), and currently the rear sits a bit too high IMHO. I'm waiting to see if will settle after a bit of driving (I've put less than 500 miles on the car since the spring swap). I'd post a pic, but it says I'm over my quota (with 5 lousy images :mad: ).

Here ya go...
attachment.php

WHy do you want mid eyes? You will lower the rear of your car, but not the front. It might look like you still have worn springs.

You can get 620 coil springs on ebay sometimes for $50. They are about $65-$70 every place else. Look into the shelby control arm drop :)

Shane