Smog Check Woes

Discussion in '1979 - 1995 (Fox, SN95.0, & 2.3L) -General/Talk-' started by radartec, May 16, 2004.

1. radartec

radartec Founding Member

Went to get a smog check last week. Now my car is now 25 years old and so until last year would NOT have had to get one. But the CA legislature extended the smog check program in California to 30 years. DOH! Anyway went to the first place and I knew things would not go smooth when they said "Did Ford put turbos in 2.3L engines in '79?" Then they were pouring thru manuals and came back to talk to me. They said they needed the vacuum diagram. Now keep in mind, I have been smogging my car in CA for the past twenty years. Never once have they asked me for the vacuum diagram. Anyway, by luck I had it stuck to the back of Chiltons where I had put it after taking off the car to paint it. So I went to get it and took it back. Then the guy said that it looked like the vacuum diagram from a truck. And I bought the car in Texas and only have to meet Federal standards from where the car was purchased. So then the guy says that I have to meet CA standards cause the car is a California car. Wrong. Anyway the two guy said I was trying to pull a fast one on them, blah, blah, blah. So now I'm ****ed and said "So for twenty years all the smog shops in Ca have been wrong". The guys said yeah theyve been wrong. What a bunch of idiots. They simply did'nt know how to inspect a car that was twenty five years old with a turbo cause they are so few of them around, especially with a carb turbo.