Track Tips

So im thinking of going to the track tomorrow night and was wondering if you guys had any tips. Its my first time at the track, but i think i have a good idea of where to start. Thinking of lowering my tire pressure to like 15psi, slipping the clutch around 3500rpms, and shifting around 5800 or 6000. How do you go about the burnout? A full like 8 second brake stand or just pop the clutch in first and ride it out? What about the water box? I know i could take out the sub and spare tire, but im not really that worried about the fastest time just yet, i just want to go and have fun, but not look like a fool haha. Ive seen NHRA at infineon so i know how the whole process works, but not how to do it myself with a car and not a TF Dragster. Thanks guys.

• Sponsors (?)

I'm assuming you'll be running street tires? If so, no burnout, quick squeak to kick to rocks off. Personally I found that I get my best times on street tires when they are between 22 and 30 psi. If you really want to, back off 5 psi each pass until you don't stick well or it feels funny, then add 5 back in.

As to launch, if it's your first time, launch off of idle. Then gradually bring it up to no more than 3k (ideally 2-2.5k) until you get wheel spin... then back off by about 200 rpm.

It's a big game of variables. If you start out with everything the way you drove in and then start from idle and work your way up and leave the tires alone you will see the most improvements. I'd also leave the sub and stuff in. It will help with traction. Yeah you may lose a 10th, but since this is a base line, who cares right? I don't even take mine out any more.

Then again that's just my opinion....

Avoid the water box... that's not opinion.