Tweecer/Pms vs standalone ??

sweet88gt

Jun 25, 2005
Venice FL
I have been on the fence but need some more infromation. I have a custom burned chip which is not working for my application. The tuner is leaning towards a standalone system to fine tune my car. Long story short I need the good the bad and the ugly of each way to tune my car. I have what I believe is a widely common setup. H/C/I with a small blower. I have had no drivebility since the blower 6+ months ago. I am in the process of rebuilding another motor and want all of my duck inline when I complete the swap. Thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

I am a complete tuning rookie, but I LOVE my Tweecer RT. I have a NA setup, and having the ability to simply switch my tweecer off and run on the stock calibrations from the PCM is great. If I were to screw something up, and for some reason not have my tune saved, I can simply switch it off and run off the stock PCM.

I have no experience with any stand alone systems....actually, I am not all that experienced with the Tweecer yet either. I just thought I would throw my opinion into the fire.

hey Fett much appreciated, I thought about the tweecer RT, but I happened along a used PMS for a decent price. It's an older one, but I know people have been doing well with them for years. If it ends up not working for me, then I'll likely end up getting the tweecer, and selling the PMS.

I got it off eBay, and the instructions are coming with it, but I guess I'd still like to get some pointers from guys with the PMS already...

The older pre 04 PMS has a standalone option from 4k rpm and up. I use it, you need it on if you rev past the stock limiter. I have my limiter at 6,800 in the PMS. The PMS is pretty easy to use, but at first it can be rough.

The newer PMS you can turn standalone on from as low as 2k rpm.

yeah, I read that on the site...sounds like the new PMS is a much more versatile piece, but, I've seen plenty of guys from when that thing first came out that swear by it.