what a pain in the ass!

tonight i mounted two 315/35-r17 BFG drag radials for my freind. I had to mount them on 17x9 wheels. they go on his 96 camrao SS. Ive been working in garages for about 4 years now and this was my first time i had to fit a 315 on a 17x9.

Now im what you would call fast on a tire machine (ive dismounted 8 tires and mounted 4 tires in 9 minutes:D), but i spent 45 minutes on these 2 tires. It took FOREVER to get the beads to seat. I had the pressure up to 60psi at one point (you are only supposed to mount a tire at 40psi or the machine may explode:lol:) and they still would not seat. i had to play aoround with them for a while.

just thought id share what a pain it is to fit a 315 on a 17x9. so the next time your tire guy does it for you, throw him 10 bucks:D

• Sponsors (?)

Wowzer! The 315 BFG's must be quite a bit narrower than 315 F1's because there's no way mine would EVER fit on a 9" rim. They're 4" wider than the wheel, lol.

At least your friend will never have to worry about curb rash on the wheels, lol.

Wouldnt it just be better to get a tire that was more narrow(thus cheaper) and it would actually result in the same contact patch?

I guess my question is whats the point of such a wide tire if the wheel cant even take advantage of it?

nmcgrawj said:
Wouldnt it just be better to get a tire that was more narrow(thus cheaper) and it would actually result in the same contact patch?

I guess my question is whats the point of such a wide tire if the wheel cant even take advantage of it?

This is a Chevy guy we are talking about.

Adam

If you measure a rim from lip to lip, they are about an inch and a half larger than the quoted size. This is because they are measure with respect to the bead.

An 8 inch wheel is really about 9.6 inches wide from lip to lip which drum roll please... is 245mm. That also happens to be the right size for a 8 inch rim anything else is compromising the sidewall.

275 is 10.835 inches wide