Dome Light And Instrument Cluster Back Lights

David Klinner

Oct 1, 2017
I am new to the Mustang family. Last Friday traded my 2005 Triumph Rocket III Cruiser for a beautiful 2002 Mustang GT 5-speed manual with the King Cobra clutch... or so I've been told. The car has recently been gone completely through. Newer Lincoln 4.6L engine installed, all new suspension. After a week of playing with the car I've installed the MSD coil packs, and have enjoyed driving the car. However my dome light, map lights, and back lights for the speedometer and tach will not work. The red lights for the needles and the lighting for the surrounding guage also work buy will not dim with the headlight switch. It does have an aftermarket radio installed improperly by the previous owner. All other items are in working order. Replaced all fuses with new ones and still no joy with dome light, map lights and back lights for speedometer and tach. Any suggestions?

• Sponsors (?)

Alright then, I'll have to check that when I get home from work, or tomorrow. Like I said everything else seems to be powered and working properly. The only questionable issues might be with the improperly installed aftermarket radio.

Just tested the F2.37 and do have power, replaced the fuse also just to be on the safe side... This is also what I've noticed... The radio will not hold presets... won't have time to fool with that till the next weekend... Fog lights do work, however drivers side is blown... the buttons light up for the fog lights, and for the back defogger, however not for the traction control and last problem I've discovered is backup lights do not work... an external oil pressure gauge was installed because last owner couldn't get gauge in the cluster to work... trying to think of anything else... Oh when the AC is on will not idle properly... AC system may need to be charged though... I have read about that issue and it does idle correct when AC is off.