Resolved Help! - Fuel Problem

Threads that have been [Resolved] by the OP or Moderator

sfckelley

Oct 3, 2023
Ohio
I have been studying the “cranks, no start“ troubleshooting thread for a bit now. My situation: 88 GT cranks and no start after I replaced the battery and start solenoid. Tonight I replaced the fuel filter and cycled the key while it was off to check fuel pump - got fuel out of the supply side, so pump and filter is ok. If the fuel relay is bad or the inerita switch was tripped, I would not have power to the pump, correct?? I do not have any pressure at the Schrader Valve. I did spray start fluid into the intake and she fired right up, but died after the fluid burned up. That means I have spark if I’m thinking correctly (I’m by no means a mechanic). Could the ignition or fuel relay still be bad?? I am planning to check them anyway tomorrow, but I am getting frustrated and had to walk away tonight. The car does have almost a full tank of gas - it smells ok to me, but I have no idea how long it has been sitting.

• Sponsors (?)

Sounds like you have a restriction somewhere in that fuel supply line. Did you maybe crush a line with a jackstand or a jack?

You are correct so far in everything you've said, so no issues with any of the relays or ignition components. If the gas doesn't stink like :poo:ty liquor then I'd say it's fine. lol

It is possible the pump is just very weak and is only able to push it to the filter but not all the way up if you get no pressure at the Schrader valve, assuming you can't find a mechanical/physical blockage in the lines.

Reactions: 1 users
Could be the pump, I am sure it is original. The car only has 34,000 miles on it. My brother in law said he had it running in June, but I am wondering what year he was talking about… could it also be the fuel pressure regulator??

• Haha
Reactions: 1 user