I Need Help

adsm08

Sep 22, 2017
Insantiy
I am working on an old Mustang that my dad picked up a while ago, knowing really nothing about it other than the price. He brought it home and let it sit for many years and now that I have moved back to the area he expects me to get it running and working again. I am a Ford tech, so I know my way around a car and a tool box. The problem is that I am running into mystery after mystery and I can't seem to find good sources for the information I need. Thusly I have some questions about the very early cars.

1) Is there any definitive way to differentiate between a 64.5 and a true 65? This seems to be one of the larger sticking points on the car. I know there are minor differences between the two, mostly in the electrical systems, but what I am seeing and finding, which is fragmented at best, suggests this car is a 64.5 or a very very early 65.

2) I need to know about things that were options, rather than standard equipment. For example, I have found that pre-66 reverse lights were optional. I am mostly interested in brake lights. Were they standard equipment, or were they an option? I really can't see brake lights being an option, but I don't have any brake lights working, don't have a brake light switch, and can't find an empty plug where one was removed.