$130 for a cd player install

Discussion in 'Mustang Sound & Shine All' started by TenaciousD, Apr 22, 2005.


  1. TenaciousD

    TenaciousD Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone have a good link or advice on how to install a new head unit in a 99 mustang w/ the mack 460 player. I took it too circuit city just to save some time and it was $50 for the install but as I had a mach 460 he said they needed to "bypass" the amp?? which was another $80.
    I have heard people talk about a harness from crutchfield or metra, is anyone of them better than the other?
    I dont know much about stereo install but I am not paying that much for a simple install.
    thanks
    #1
  2. MyEarsHurt

    MyEarsHurt New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you own the head unit yet? If not, then just buy it through crutchfield because they will walk you through the whole install step by step. They are awesome over there... But if you pay $130 for a head unit install you are getting taken bigtime.
    #2
  3. TenaciousD

    TenaciousD Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah, I already own the head unit.
    #3
  4. Mossberg

    Mossberg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    130 is rape to install a headunit. It takes about 30 minutes tops.
    #4
  5. MerkurNut

    MerkurNut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You all are missing the whole point. It isnt the CD player that is the "hard part". Depending on how they will "bypass" the mach 460amp is the key here. Either way that is about right for the price. I love how all of you are so cheap.
    #5
  6. TenaciousD

    TenaciousD Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I found this on another website, if it is right is does'nt sound to hard

    "if you remove the head unit and look into the cavity behind the radio on the right hand side, you should see a Ford FD-02 type factory radio connector clipped to the side of the console. buy yourself a compatible wiring harness and plug your deck into this input, which bypasses the factory amplifier system."

    as far as I can tell this is the harness
    http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/show...&St3=74734058&DS_ID=3&Product_ID=117730&DID=7
    #6
  7. MyEarsHurt

    MyEarsHurt New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try that first man....its only 12 bucks if its wrong...that sure beats $130!
    #7
  8. TenaciousD

    TenaciousD Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i now have a new problem, the Metra rep sent me an email that said I need a 70-5510 harness for my exact car, every other place says I need a 70-5511. I emailed him asking if he made a mistake and he said no.

    This site seems to have everything needed for the install. I will let you know if it works
    http://www.thezeb.com/p-Metra-70-5510--Wiring-Harness-Adapter-106761.htm
    http://www.thezeb.com/p-Metra-88-00-9000--Mounting-Kit-106876.htm
    http://www.thezeb.com/p-Metra-86-5618-Ford-Radio-Removal-Tool-106861.htm
    #8
  9. eedwards

    eedwards New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "I love how all of you are so cheap". - MerkurNut


    ahem.
    #9
  10. DMDyne

    DMDyne New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The 5511 harness is not meant for the amplified system. The 5510 may be what we call an "add-a-head" harness at work(never checked the model number). With that one the factory amps will work and your volume will be high even at low levels on the radio. If you unplug the amps inside the radio housing like you said, you will probably need a 1770 harness and it will bypass the amps.

    My suggestion - get the 1770 and bypass the amps.

    Edit - Some installers don't like to mess with amplified systems. The 2 other guys I work with usually charge $65 to install into a Mach Mustang. If I'm available, they let me do it for the normal $40.

    I'm not sure where they are getting $190 at because the basic install is $40 and a "hardwire" is $25. 1 hardwire per amp = $100 + basic install = $140. Unless they are charging you for a 4 speaker installation as well which would be another $75....something doesn't add up there. I would suggest talking to the S&I manager at that Circuit City and not bothering with the sales staff or the installers.
    #10
  11. TenaciousD

    TenaciousD Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks alot for your help
    #11

Share This Page