1981 Fox Project

Ross302

Jun 25, 2009
Lunenburg MA
I recently acquired a 1981 Coupe. My cousin bought it with plans to restore. It was originally a 4.2 2 barrel. Not sure if it was an automatic or manual.
The guy who owned it before put in a 302, a clutch with a T5 and a 8.8 rear-end. It was not driving when he got it, the drive train was basically laying in place.

I am going to start a tread so I can post updates as to where I stand in getting this Fox back on the road...and so people will know what i am working with when I ask for advice, since this will be my first build I will need all the help I can get

My Back ground:
Army Vet - 1/5 INF Fort Lewis WA 99-03 :flag:
State College MA 03-07
Business Banking TD Banknorth 07- current
As you can see I have no real automotive experience, but have done some back yard mechanics. Friends and family (cousins) have owned Mustangs and have always wanted one of my own...

Starting%20Point

Attachments

• IMG_0226j.jpg
    IMG_0226j.jpg
    74.1 KB · Views: 136
  • IMG_0229.jpg
    IMG_0229.jpg
    74.2 KB · Views: 137
  • Sponsors (?)

motor is in. :nice:
I had to chase down all kinds of bolts, as 80% of the hardware was missing. but its in.
put in clutch kit and connected the clucth cable.
I am missing the bolts to connect the drive shaft to the rear-end. But a friend is getting those for me.

I need to figure out how to connect the throttle cable to the carb:shrug:

Attachments

• img096.jpg
    img096.jpg
    57.3 KB · Views: 130
  • img093.jpg
    img093.jpg
    55.7 KB · Views: 136
sweet bronco too!

i post more pictures by having them hosted by another site. I use photobucket.com.
Once the other site is hosting them take the direct link to the photo. The direct link will be listed.
Then when you post surround the direct link with this text:
where x is the direct link.
That might be a little confusing, but PM me if you want more in depth instructions.