1987 Ford Mustang 2.3L R12 to R134A conversion. Recommended way of draining old system and oil?

The add on air conditioning kits, like dealer installed or ARA air, all have low side hoses that are hose clamped
One side only usually
Some early ones even had clamps on the high side
That's also why both the high side and low side test ports are right there on the hoses too, and not a manifold like all the factory stuff

Reactions: 1 user
  • Sponsors (?)

I'm not an expert on 2.3's but the big change was in 1991 when Ford went to the dual plug head and wasted spart DIS so some of the brackety and such may have changed. For the most part 87-90 is mostly the same.

With used A/C parts, it's hit or miss if they are serviceable. All depends on how long they have been open and exposed and how much crud has gotten in. At a minimun I would perform a flush on the parts. I would also buy a new liquid line with the orifice as flushing this will just drive crud into the orifice. Looking at RockAuto.com i see the various lines aren't all that expensive ($30 or so each) so given the time/cost of flushing lines, it may be worth it to get new.

Compressors are expensive. Might be worth taking a look at a used one if it's clean. Can be opened and rebuilt if you'd like.

Condensor and evap i would either flush the ones you have or buy new. I wouldn't risk used parts. Too much risk of damage/pinhole.

Reactions: 1 users
I'm Attempting to get a list together of everything I need for the job. I added part numbers and photos below for those who may have to do the same thing I am. I still still need the A/c Mounting bracket, tensioner, belt, and O-ring kit. Is there anything I am missing on the list that I may be missing if I were to do this job with new everything?