350 in 84 stang?

ritt

Apr 7, 2008
I want to do something that not alot of people have, if any people do. I want to put a 350 with a turbo 350 tranny in a 84 mustang. Idk how hard this wil be to do, if it is possible? If i can, what is the minimum amount of modificatons that i would have to do to the car? Any help would be nice

• Sponsors (?)

im new to the whole mustang scene myself, but why put a chevy drivetrain in one? im sure its been done before. is it that you have the 350 and the tranny already? cause you can get a 351 decently cheap or a 5.0 for 300 and up. im not trying to rain on your plans, like i said im new to mustangs and dont know to much about them, but why chevy when ford is just as easy and can be inexpensive?

the reason for this is because i have a tranny and a edelbrock intake and carb for a chevy 350.... and since im 17 and alil tight on money and just want a fast car im thinking this would work..... and for all the performance catalogs i have looked in its WAY cheaper to build a 350 than a 302 or 351...... but i just need to know how hard this switch would be.... i already got **** about it at o'rielly's today, but i want a unique car that will actually run lol, chevy will get that done!

It is possible, there is a guy at my local track that runs a SBC in a fox body. You will need a custom K-member, either fabricate one or purchase one from Jegs. They make one that will work with a SBC.

http://www.jegs.com/i/Anthony Jones/040/MU-3030/10002/-1

As for headers, most guys used the S10/SBC engine swap headers. You will need a custom driveshaft, transmission crossmember, and small stuff like radiator hoses that will fit the 350.

Not to mention, when you get everything installed and get it running, that 350 will probably destroy the 7.5" differential in your '84.