'73 q-code mach 1 best budget rebuild

lewis_dd

Dec 6, 2001
Any help want to get more power and speed for my '73 351 cleveland oc 4v head motor with dished pistons.
would you simply put pop-up piston to regain compression have standard head work etc. I would like to keep it fairly original looking but want some power. I plan on at least 2 1/4" dual exhaust with maybe flowmasters, roller timing set up straight up or maybe 2-4 deg advanced, Rhodes lifters, Lunati bracket master 2 or crane 268h cams, edlebrock 600 cfm carb, performer intake, any sugestions corrections etc.

Not a motor builder at all so i don't even know what machine work goes for.
see my signiture for car details.

thanks

darren

• Sponsors (?)

I think I replied to your question on another forum but I can't be sure, so here goes.

I have a 73 convertible with 70K miles and the same Q-code (351 4V) motor with a C6 trans and 3.25 gears. I have been messing with it for the last 15 years trying various things WITHOUT getting into the long block. Basically it still has the factory cam, heads, short block and exhaust manifolds. I have added the Edebrock Performer intake with a 600 cfm Edelbrock carb, 3.89 rear gears and a 2800 stall converter. I have done a LOT of research as to the best way to go with the motor and have decided on a plan of action.