'97 Mustang Cobra or '97 Mustang GT

Lynx131

Mar 9, 2004
I posted this in the 4.6 forum, but i figured i would get your guys' opinion also. Right now i have a 97 mustang v6, and im looking to get a v-8. I really want the cobra, i like everything about it, but the only thing that makes me wonder is the power 300+ thats double of my v-6. The only v-8 i've drivien was my buddys 92 camaro, 305, and i didn't think it was that fast, plus it was pretty easy to control. Another reason i want the cobra is so all the boys in my high school auto shop will shut up about my v-6 and i could start buging them for their stock 5.0's :banana: But im just worried of one thing... im a 16 year old driver. After talking with my dad, im actually kind of afraid of having one because i don't wanna do sumthing and then screw up and end up wrecking the car.. or worse... Any opinions here?

• Sponsors (?)

The main thing you have to ask yourself is if you think you are ready to handle a Cobra. I also had a 97 V6 about a year and a half ago. I drove the heck out of that thing for 3 years and thought it was decently fast. Then I stepped up to a 2001 Cobra. The horsepower and torque doubled as did the size of my ego. I thought I was the biggest baddest mofo on the planet just becuase I owned a Cobra. Luckily I was never caught doing anything stupid, but I realized pretty soon that I had to be much more responsible. If you think you are responsible enough to handle that much power then I wouldn't see any problems with getting one. If you decide to go with the GT instead, that is still plenty of car and there are lots of mods out there for them. Good luck with your decision. :banana: