Bearings Look Bad? Advice :(

TRIBUNAL

Jun 12, 2005
so for those who haven't heard the story yet.. I am on a budget and time race... I bought the engine from a junk yard, 97 explorer 117k miles, supposedly. It was real gunked up with oil and I cleaned it pretty good. Cylinders all look good.
Today I opened up the rear main to replace the rear seal.... and I see this (See Below)...

Assuming this is not acceptable? I'm a little over my head here this is my first time inside an engine. So assuming the crank doesn't have scratches like that, can I just buy new Main and Rod bearings and slap it together? Maybe cam bearings too depending on how it looks. Maybe get the crank boiled and polished for $50. Grind+Polish is $150... Bleh...
The crank looked fine so far, which seems odd but good.
Any advice is appreciated.

IMG_20161023_153825.jpg

• Sponsors (?)

Yea you're probably right I just didn't see any other way to do it and kind of wanted to see what it looked like anyway.
I took the next main cap off, not as bad but still see some.. copper? crank still had no scratches.

Attachments

• IMG_20161023_162646.jpg
    IMG_20161023_162646.jpg
    499.7 KB · Views: 142
  • IMG_20161023_162727.jpg
    IMG_20161023_162727.jpg
    519.6 KB · Views: 173
  • IMG_20161023_162717.jpg
    IMG_20161023_162717.jpg
    472 KB · Views: 185
  • IMG_20161023_162736.jpg
    IMG_20161023_162736.jpg
    477.1 KB · Views: 149
  • IMG_20161023_162659.jpg
    IMG_20161023_162659.jpg
    520 KB · Views: 161
  • IMG_20161023_162658.jpg
    IMG_20161023_162658.jpg
    645.5 KB · Views: 198
Those dont look that bad to me. DIrt from sitting and infrequent oil changes. Can you feel any of the scratches with your finget nail?
Since you have the pan off I'd
  • Replace the oil pump with a new Mellings unit
  • Replace the oil pump shaft with an ARP one
  • Replace the rear main seal with a Felpro and the stainless steel sleeve
  • Soak the oil piclkup and tube in some parts cleaner