Brake pad help

ctafoya

Dec 21, 2007
Arizona
All right, I want to change out the pads on my 2001 GT and I'm looking for instruction/advice and any experiences anyone has had that may help me avoid seriously injuring myself, my Stang, or my ego. I'm new to this sort of thing so anyone kind enough to reply, I'd appreciate if you used small words and talk real slow ;) I have the dual piston PBR calipers and need to know if there's any trick to removing them; how many bolts need to be removed; how to compress the pistons (ie, do they need to be compressed at the same time/ do I need a special tool?), etc. Thanks in advance to anyone willing to take the time to help!!

• Sponsors (?)

I would suggest doing some searching and researching and then when you have a specific question ask it.

Making a thread in tech saying basically; "hand me all the brake pad changing knowledge on a silver platter" is not going to produce much.

If you prefer not to search the Haynes manual has the basic procedure.

If you run into a problem we will help you.

I can give you one tip: lube the caliper slide pins with antiseize or moly based grease

Buy a caliper bit set at Autozone/Peep Boys/wherever. It will be practically all you need to do the pads.

Like the above poster said, don't forget to lube the slide pins. You should also throw a little bit of Anti Squeal lube on the back side of the pad for squeak free operation.

It helps to have a pad spreader tool to push the caliper piston back in, but I did it with an old pad and a really large c-clamp.

Hope this helps you.

Here is a quick write up (if I leave anything out feel free to add)!

Tools and parts needed:
Brake pads (front and rear)
Jack
Jack Stands
Ratchet (extension optional, for rear)
12mm Socket
12mm Wrench (optional for rear)
Screw driver or small pry bar (for rear pads)
Large C-Clamp or Caliper Compressing Tool
Anti-seize compound or grease (not spray lubricant)
Brake cleaner spray