Californians, how far can you push CARB?

slayr281

The poster formerly known as slayr420
Founding Member
Jun 15, 1999
San Diego, California
I had all these dreams and aspirations of turboing my daily driven cobra to around 700hp, which sounded great. Unfortunately, I'm new to California, and not too knowledgable about CARB, which pretty much ended those dreams as there aren't any legal turbo kits.

Now what? Are all superchargers legal? How many mods can I make that will keep it legal or very close to legal, and how far can I go?

• Sponsors (?)

All catbacks w/ mufflers are legal. BBK, Frpp, and JBA shotie headers are legal. Underdrive pullies are legal. Aftermarket upper plenium and throttlebody is fine. Most CAI are legal also. Mac straight shot is legal also the KNN FIPK too. The only thing that comes to question is the Midpipe, Only the stock midpipe is legal. But what you can do is get a aftermarket one w/2 cats of course and keep the stock one and change it out when before you take the car to get smogged. Just put about 300 miles on the stock H-pipe when you put it back on to break it in again, thats what I do , cause it only takes me 30mins to change out the pipe once every 2 years. Most superchargers are CARB legal. Some more advise whenever you get your smog done take your car to a mom and pop shop they are more passive and don't ask questions.

01TrueBlueCobra said: