Diablo Predator Programmer OR SCT???

03gtmustang

May 26, 2003
Northern Va
Ive been hearing good things about the SCT latley. But I also like the diablo programmer. The only bad thing about the SCT is the price. The Diablo is about the same price as the superchip programmer, but it has a lot more options. Right now I have the superchip programmer which just isnt enough anymore. I want to have more control. For example a/f ratios and stuff like that. Can anyone with either of these chips give me more info. Thanks

• Sponsors (?)

OK, I have some experience here with this one and some STRONG opinions, but I will keep an open mind in my response.

The Diablo gives the user more control in the same way (but more) that the original Super Chip Max Tuner did (not the SCT one). HOWEVER, the amount of user control that you have is not as much as you would think.

As to the claim that the Diablo can be used to control A/F, this is a leap. The Diablo does not read or data log A/F data!!! Neither does the SCT. Anybody claiming that the diablo can do this is NOT telling the whole story. With any custom chip/programmer if you have A/F data you can have the device reprogrammed accordingly. What some of the SCT guys do is use a LM1 Datalogger to retieve A/F info and email to SCT, then they email back a different tune. This can also be performed over the mail OR on a dyno. In theory, the Diablo can do the same thing.

On the surface, the Diablo is a better, more capable device. Reality, though, is different. The secret to any chip/programmer is customer support. And quite frankly, this is where SCT has the advantage over Diablo.

First, Diablo does not have the experience or the data base that SCT has. This is why you may be hearing comments from Diablo Pred. users that their cars knock with the tune on it. This is rare with SCT. I waited 2 months for a re-burn from Diablo and eventually gave up and asked for my money back.