Diagnosing Rebuilt Engine Tick?

Just rebuilt my 302.. new mains, rod bearings, crank polished, rings, pistons, gaskets but I left the cam, lifters and head because apparently cam had been replaced by previous owner and appeared in good shape. But anyways the engine fired right up, and ran good except for a tick ( not a knock ) coming from driver side valve cover area. I took cover off, and adjusted valves but no difference. I re torqued headers and inspected for possible leaks but couldnt find anything. I am suspecting a bad lifter but can anyone suggest anything to look for before I tear it down? Im a high school student and cant afford to misdiagnose it .. lol.

Also, it can be heard much better at idle or low rpm's.

Thanks,

• Sponsors (?)

I believe the welds are fine , rpm seems to be slightly erratic ranging from 800 to 1100 ish Rpm's at idle.
Well that could be a few things in and of itself. Did you run codes? Check out the sticky on that. Lots of good info there. The ticking probably has nothing to do with the idle fluctuation. I've seen pin holes in welds on headers that have caused noise. When they thought it was a gasket. Probably a lifter-valvetrain noise but really hard to know:shrug:

Retorquing a header if it's leaking may not help it. Unfortunatley, once the gasket is blown, it's blown. Try unbolting the header, pulling the gasket out and inspecting it. If it seems fine, re-install with a thing bead of high heat copper silicone around each port. Torque from the inside out. Repeat this step a few times after the engine has cooled overnight. Headers should be torqued cold.

A worn lifter could also cause the tick you describe. Unless you replaced the lifters into the same lifter bores they came out of, in the same direction they were facing, you can't ensure that they aren't the issue.