Fix your Slow dropping/hanging RPMs

Discussion in 'SN95 4.6L Mustang Tech' started by magnum347, May 1, 2005.


  1. rs-turbo

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    I thought it was opposite: small hole would be a low idle, bigger normal idle, and a leak would cause high idle. Maybe I just need to make the hole in my plate bigger. Would the small hole possibly have triggered my dash light?
     
    #141
  2. 4.6_02_Black_GT

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Okay, got the IAC restrictor plate, and everyone is giving conflicting info. I have 2002 GT 2v.... I'm attaching a picture, looks to me that the small hole in the plate should go on the drivers side correct??? The Bullit guys are saying passenger side, I'm confused.:shrug: :shrug: :shrug: :shrug:

    Seems to me looking at our TB/Plenum that the restricted port(small hole) should cover the IAC port?? Seems to be the only obivious way to put it on.

    [​IMG]
     
    #142
  3. w.neurauter

    w.neurauter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyone been able to find a shop that would just adjust the dashpot settings on the computer? I would order a programmer but my car is stock accept for catback, so I can't justify $400 just to fix the rpm hang the right way. The copper pipe gets annoying from time to time when the engine is cold and also when the a/c is on. Anyone been able to find an alternative way to change the dashpot settings without buying a programmer?
     
    #143
  4. 4.6_02_Black_GT

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    okay one more time,

    small hole on the drivers side on a 02GT right?? Is this correct?? seems to make sense



    [​IMG]
     
    #144
  5. squares98

    squares98 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    Orange,ca

    Alternative, no. But the programmer will do it. I put the stock tune on yesterday for comparison, and the stock tune has idle hang. Predator tune does not
     
    #145
  6. steveb24

    steveb24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    wilmington, DE
    i have no idea how old this thread is.. but the guy on pg 6. who was trying to figure out what side the small hole goes on.. what side does the small hole go on? i wana know too now that i just ordered one from 34 ford tonight after gettin ****ed by hanging idle today and researching it. on his pic it seems that it would be obvious that its the drivers side?? is that right?? i hope this works as many have said it does, i had a guy adjust my dashpot but that was a diff tuner when i didnt have cams, the new tuner did not adjust the dashpot delay so ive been dealing with this crap for a few months now and ive had enough!
     
    #146
  7. sgarlic

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    3,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    You can see in the above picture, that one side goes nowhere in the TB itself. The side with the actual hole in the TB is the side that you put the smaller hole of the gasket on.
     
    #147
  8. Mattstang04

    Mattstang04 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Part # for the gasket is Ford #E83Z.9F671.A.
     
    #148
  9. madmatt

    madmatt Ellis Juan sympathizer
    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Does anyone know if I can still get one of these from anybody?
     
    #149
  10. rs-turbo

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Me too. The one I made cause my CE light to eventually come on, then was okay after I removed it and reset it. Since then I've changed my intake setup and added a Prochamber. Would love to hear that gurgle echoing through the Prochamber.

    Mike
     
    #150
  11. padge

    padge New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    I made one of these things and it didn't do anything... I seriously noticed no difference what-so-ever ...
     
    #151

Share This Page