Mach 1 Idle Problem

Discussion in 'Special Production' started by mach1grrl, Dec 2, 2003.


  1. mach1grrl

    mach1grrl Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I went to leave for lunch today and my mach started and then died. It would not idle. Unless I kept pressure on the gas, the car would die. So I headed straight to the dealer and I guess the idle cord on my mach died, which he said was not very common. I am sad :(

    Just curious if anyone else has had a similar problem?
  2. ttown

    ttown Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A bad IAC is a very common problems on all the mustangs. Oil from a K&N on the MAF electronics is another.
  3. oogtdude

    oogtdude Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup..IAC
  4. Magicfan25

    Magicfan25 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Apparently Ford just cant make a good IAC..same problem on my Explorer, aunts expedition etc...
  5. mach1grrl

    mach1grrl Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cool thanks guys...I feel much better. I was worried since the service guy said it wasn't very common. Still sad though b/c apparently the IAC on machs and cobras have to be ordered from TN, so I am machless for 2 or 3 days...I hate being away from my baby...lol
  6. oogtdude

    oogtdude Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what color? i'm waiting on delivery for a black 1....the wait is sooo stressfull!
  7. mach1grrl

    mach1grrl Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine is Azure Blue...just like the one shown in 24 last nite actually. Is yours a 2003 or 2004? I have had mine since last Feb...I hated the wait too! Sucks though b/c I am about to enter my first midwest winter with it :(
  8. oogtdude

    oogtdude Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its a 04 black 5-speed IUP, i'm in the north east the winters are rough...but she will be in a heated garage till spring, does yours not have a garage?:(
  9. mach1grrl

    mach1grrl Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope no garage:(

    Our garage is full already with classics and a viper...so my mach and my mom's cobra have to sit outside during the winter. sucks huh? especially having to scrape all that snow and ice off the windows at 8 in the morning!
  10. oogtdude

    oogtdude Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :( yes thats terrible! ever consider those cheap car ports? might help a lil :( ...would your moms be a 03 snake?? that viper must be badass!
  11. mach1grrl

    mach1grrl Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no I haven't actually. Yeah my mom's is an 03...yellow. Viper...BAD ASS!!!!
  12. kurst

    kurst Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know I'm going to feel stupid when I hear the answer, but I've been wondering what the hell is IUP?
  13. ttown

    ttown Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IUP= Interior upgrade package, it's all the bullit stuff and upgraded headrest on the seats.
  14. 34Ford

    34Ford Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IAC=hanging rpms

    Didn't replacing the IAC fix the hanging rpm problems?

    I sure would like to get that fixed. :nice: Warranty covers it?


    Dennis
  15. mach1grrl

    mach1grrl Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have had no problems since the IAC was replaced...and it was under warranty...they even gave me a free oil change for my inconvenience...sweet!
  16. 34Ford

    34Ford Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got back from getting my IAC checked for the lingering rpms and they said it looked fine on their machine.
    Said it was normal, something to do with the emissions crap.

    I wonder since their not a svt dealer if they could be wrong?

    Or is there a chip I can get burned to get rid of this?

    Dennis

Share This Page