Keyless Entry?

Discussion in '1979 - 1995 (Fox, SN95.0, & 2.3L) -General/Talk-' started by ry94stang50, Jul 13, 2013.


  1. ry94stang50

    ry94stang50 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Does anybody know if I would be able to install keyless entry? I heard it can only be done if the car had the option from the factory? My car has an alarm but I don't want connect it....
    #1
  2. JJ95GTID

    JJ95GTID Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,154
    Showcase:
    16
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    49
    Yes, it can be done on your car even if it didn't come with the option from Ford.
    I installed one myself with a trunk release button option.
    #2
  3. 5.0 Ford Guy

    5.0 Ford Guy Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    39
    How is that done? My wife just bought a 2000 Mustang V6 and it had a keyless remote that came with the car, but even after changing the battery it doesn't work.
    #3
  4. JJ95GTID

    JJ95GTID Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,154
    Showcase:
    16
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    49

    In your wife's case I'd look at the remote module.
    I believe it's in the driver's side door.

    Any car with power door locks can have a remote keyless entry system installed.

    I bought mine from Pepboys years ago. It's a Bulldog system.

    Just a pain to get to the wires because they're between the driver's side kick panel and the fuse block under the dash.
    #4
  5. ry94stang50

    ry94stang50 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Do they atleast come with instructions lol
    #5
  6. creektrack

    creektrack Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    19
    You can buy a factory remote on ebay for around $10-20 and give it a shot to see if yours is already installed, and they come with instructions. ..

    The remote may need to be programmed. ..google how to program a keyless entry remote and you should find the instructions. ..really easy, just a bunch of steps, like turning the ignition on and off 7 times...cant remember exactly..

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 2
    #6
  7. MysteryMachine

    MysteryMachine Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39

    If you mean the black box it should be in the truck behind the carpet on the drivers side.
    #7
  8. JJ95GTID

    JJ95GTID Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,154
    Showcase:
    16
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    49

    Yeah they do. You'll need a wiring diagram for you car too. I used my Chilton manual for that.
    #8
  9. JJ95GTID

    JJ95GTID Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,154
    Showcase:
    16
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    49

    Yeah, you're right. I was thinking about the auto down module.
    #9
  10. MysteryMachine

    MysteryMachine Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Lol figures I don't post here in years and when I do I misspell and write truck instead of trunk. I've had my my bouts with that stupid box on the Mystery Machine. My trunk leaks and it dripped on it frying it. I was able to take it apart and dry it once or twice but the last time I tried I couldn't get it back together and broke it.
    #10
  11. 5.0 Ford Guy

    5.0 Ford Guy Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    39
    My wife got her remote working. It just needed programmed.
    #11
  12. creektrack

    creektrack Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Yes! I was right for once...glad you got it working...and if I was you, I would get another one just in case...I think you can program up to 8 of them...

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 2
    #12
  13. 5.0 Ford Guy

    5.0 Ford Guy Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    39
    I didn't even think about it needing reprogrammed until I saw it. It doesn't have a Mustang on it. Didn't they still have the remotes with the Running Pony logo on them in 2000?
    #13
  14. creektrack

    creektrack Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Not sure to be honest....I cant remember the last time I saw an originalbkey fob and not a replacement. ..im trying to figure out how to tell if my 96 gt had the factory keyless installed...

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 2
    #14

Share This Page