Looking to buy a welder. Need Advice

• Sponsors (?)

Roland69 said:
whatever you do make sure it's not a flux core mig....they are usless and make a weld that looks like chicken sh-it.

mabye you just can't flux core:p

anyways, it really depends on if you have access to just a 110v outlet, or a 220. if you can only work with a 110v, then one of those Lincoln's at home depot should work fine.

badhorsie said:
I too am looking to purchase a mig. I friend of mine swears by the Miller welders since the voltage is infinitely variable unlike some of the other ones where you only get 4 settings. They are expensive but I am sure I will use it alot once I get it!!

You really dont need infinately adjustable arc volts, im a TIG welder for Stainless Works (performance exhaust) with some MIG here and there. For what you want to do, I suggest you try to get a solid core MIG setup with the correct gas (there are a few different mixes) and unlike flux-cored, you can switch the wire to weld on stainless too.

I have just a 110V household Harbor freight flux cored gasless welder that is a 90amp output, i use it for my exhaust system and other things, the tensile strength for the wire is 71 KSI which is very strong. Flux cored takes more skill to get a nice bead, but with practice it will look just fine, dont let the others on here with little experience steer you away from flux-cored.

You can only weld outside with a solid core/gas wire welder or with a TIG in winds up to about 5 mph, but with flux cored you can wled outside with winds up to 50 mph (im not kidding) and still be shielded. Flux cored has its place and i bought the welder for only $119, has been working for 2 years and producing some great welds.

:)

ExplodingGopher said: