Modifying seats on 2004 Stang GT?

Tomtom9401

Oct 24, 2008
Hey guys, so i bought a mustang 2 days ago and i love it so much. It is my first manual transmission car so i am still learning to drive all over again haha. It is a blast to drive. I notice that when i go to release the clutch, right when it starts to grab that my leg is basically at full extents upward and it starts to hit the steering wheel. I have the rely on either my ankle which has arthritis in it from football, or going at a slight angle. This is becoming a problem because i cant really use a left turn signal haha and i look like a fool when i take off almost breaking my neck. I am 6 foot 5 the seat is all the way back and pointing fully downward as well as the steering wheel all the up. I was just wondering if anyone has made any kind of modifcations to say the steering wheel or possibly the seat that will allow me a little bit more of room, im not really looking to invest into aftermarket seats. Thanks!

• Sponsors (?)

Go to mustangworld's website. They have a write up on how to make the front seats go back a little further. I think it just involves removing the seats and the seat brackets, and remounting the brackets so the seat sits back further. :nice:

Wow. 6' 5" in a mustang. This reminds me of police academy when Hightower and Mahone went out to practice driving and hightower reaches in and rips out the drivers seat and sits on the back seat. But seriously the only thing I can think of would be removing the seat from its current location and moving the mounts back a couple of inches. It should still allow you to move your seat forwards to accomodate shorter drivers but should be moved back far enough to eliminate your problem.