need some help with my 76

ryans76

Aug 23, 2005
Hey there a couple of days ago my stang died ( 1976 with a 302 carb.). It died when i was coasting in neutral up to a stop light, it didnt jump like it stalled or anything just shut off. Well i tried starting it again and after 2 or 3 attempts it starting making a nasty cranking and whining sounds, so i guess my starter was shot. I replaced the starter and just before i was going to put my brace back on my car (the one right behind the engine crossmember). Now im kinda new to working on cars, but where ur transmission and engine connect on the bottom of the transmission there is a little gap. Well i seen a piece of metal sticking through there it looks like a bearing case. Its has notches on half and the other half seems to be flattened. If anyone has any ideas please let me know. Also before i noticed the metal pieces i started my car up and it started with no hesitation and it sounds great....????? Thanks for all your help......Ryan

• Sponsors (?)

ryans76 said:
hey there a couple of days ago my stang died ( 1976 with a 302 carb.) when i was coasting in neutral up to a stop light just died didnt jump like it stalled or anything just shut off well i tried starting it again and after 2 or 3 attempts it starting making a nasty cranking and whining sounds so i guess my starter was shot so that it was i replaced the starter and just before i was going to put my brace back on my car (the one right behind the engine crossmember) now im kinda new to working on cars but where ur transmission and engine connect on the bottom of the transmission there is a little gap well i seen a piece of metal sticking through there it looks like a bearing case its has like the notches half of it was flattened. if anyone has any ideas please let me know. also before i noticed the metal pieces i started my car up and it started with no hesitation and it sounds great....????? thanks for all your help......Ryan